remember that time…

…when I signed up for the yoga challenge? Remember when I posted my update? No?

Well, there’s a reason for that. I just never got around to it… until now… almost a year later. To recap, last fall, I joined BYT’s yoga challenge. Yes, I finished. Though I nearly faltered in the end, I actually finished. I have a cute little BYT tote to prove it, too! Yay me! Finishing was a miracle. Last fall, I was teaching FIVE courses, and working on a bunch of other stuff which caught up to me mid-semester. The last two weeks of the challenge was really tough for me. I was homesick, my work schedule was full, and I ended up doing stuff I told myself I’d never do. Am I glad I did the challenge? Hell yes. Would I do something like that? Um. It depends. Here are my two cents on challenges.

Originally, I wanted to a 30-day Bikram Yoga challenge. At BYT, it’s 26 classes in 30 days. After 2.5 weeks, I was done.  I resented going to class and when you don’t love what you’re doing, then the whole thing is pointless. For me, the 30-day and 60-day (52 classes in 60 days) challenges aren’t productive. There’s too much prep and my body just craved rest. Kudos to people who can do the 30 and 60-day challenges. I’m just not one of them.

Some people double up in order to meet their goal. However, I learned the hard way that two classes in the same day es no bueno para mi. Having at least twelve hours in between classes is essential for me. Also, when you practice that much, it’s natural to resort to taking a super LONG break when the challenge is done. Personally, I have a hard time bouncing back from long breaks. In the process, I learned that while doing the 30 and 60-day challenges, I’m basically binge-practicing. Again, this isn’t good for me. I prefer consistency over bulk quantity.

image

To restore my sanity, I transitioned into the 12-year anniversary challenge, which required four classes per week for eight weeks. This was much more doable, even with my heavy schedule. Plus, it got me the cool bag you see above.

Currently, I’m learning that going to Bikram yoga three to five times a week suits me best. I need the flexibility.

26-n-2-Challenge-ad

While I’m not into OD-ing on yoga, I’m definitely open to trying another challenge. To celebrate their 13-year anniversary, BYT is holding another challenge: complete 26 classes in 2 months. This means you need to complete at least three classes per week. Personally, I think this is perfect! I’m traveling monthly this semester, so it helps me get into the good habit of practicing regularly, while giving me some flexibility with my travel schedule. BYT, I love you folks!

To end, I’d like to share some yoga news (that has absolutely NOTHING to do with me). These days, I’m totally obsessed with Big Gal Yoga.  I found out about Valerie when I read this article. From there, I started following her IG account. She’s incredible, and inspires my own practice. Valerie recently decided to take her practice to the next level by going to teacher training. Check out her GO FUND ME page! As soon as the funds are available, you know I’m gonna support her! It would be great if you did too!

Photo stolen from Big Gal Yoga's Go Fund Me page: http://www.gofundme.com/gb3mvqm4.

Photo stolen from Big Gal Yoga’s Go Fund Me page: http://www.gofundme.com/gb3mvqm4.

Celebrating EVERY body,

the fierce fathlete

Leave a Reply

