30 days of Bikram Yoga

IMG_7759

Tricked you! This photo is from when I finished BYT’s 26 in 2 challenge. An updated pic with my shiny new medal will be on its way soon.

Remember when I said I would never do a 30 Day Bikram Yoga challenge? Yeah. I lied. In case you missed it, I wrote all about it here.

Right now, I’m happy to say that I actually finished. Maraming salamat to the folks at Bikram Yoga Tempe for helping me push through. When I attempted this challenge last year, I hated the 2.5 weeks I stayed in. It was exhausting and counter-productive. That’s largely why I opted out and switched to the anniversary challenge.

So why put myself through the same torture?!

In truth, a lot has happened in this last year. Some things that factored in my second attempt at conquering a 30 Day Bikram Yoga challenge:

  1. I was already halfway there. To complete the Bikram Yoga Tempe Anniversary Challenge, I had to complete fourteen classes in the last eighteen days. After doing the calculations, I realized that the 30th day landed on the day that I would have to fly out to San Francisco for the holiday break. Luckily, the nice folks at BYT allowed me to deposit those last eighteen days into the 30 Day Bikram Yoga challenge.
  2. I have a much better sense of my practice. Last year, I only went to the 5:30am classes. Waking up at 4:30am every morning, coupled with my heavy teaching load, and extra long days left me exhausted. It came to a point where I felt I was actually hurting my practice more than I was helping it. This time around, I now know that taking some classes in the afternoon or evening is actually good for me.
  3. Unlike many other yoga places, BYT actually factors in one rest day per week. This is a total godsend!
  4. I was ready for the challenge.

To celebrate finishing two challenges in a row (and to turning the big 4-0 in the next few weeks), I’ll share a series of posts that address the various lessons I have learned in going full tilt boogie in my practice. These posts will be tagged under: The Fathlete’s Guide to Surviving a Bikram Yoga Challenge. Hopefully, you will enjoy the talk story. For those of you who are already engaging in some type of yoga practice, I hope my stories help you with your processes. For those of you who hesitate to even start, I hope my stories can assist you in re-considering.

See you soon!

Celebrating EVERY body,

the fierce fathlete

Leave a Reply

