never say never

As promised, here are pix from finishing the challenge. Don’t worry. I always bite the medal.

If you told me a year ago that I would re-visit the 30-Day Bikram Yoga challenge, I likely would have laughed in your face. As I have mentioned previously, I did it because I was half way there and I was ready to do it. When the glass is half full, you may as well go for broke, right? I did the challenge because I happened to fall into the opportunity to finish. Not to diminish the accomplishment, but I want to be demistify the magnitude of  doing something like this. In fact, I would have never considered conquering a 30-day challenge if I did not fail last year.

In order to suceed, I needed to fail first.

There you have it: the secret ingredient to every success story known to humankind. No one knows failure like I do. I have been rejected by over one hundred jobs (and counting). Yes, I KNOW FAILURE. For people that know me, and know my work ethic, this is hard to believe. But this is a truth that I am always haunted by.

Having said that, I also know what it’s like to bounce back from failure. Sometimes it takes a concerted effort to get back on your feet. Other times, it’s a matter of an opportunity presenting itself, and you just striking while the iron is hot. Either way, failure has a purpose. Sometimes, it means that you pick up pieces you never thought you’d run into again. I don’t like to think of my life as a series of successes and failures. Instead, I like to think of it as a series of events that I have survived.

Yes, I finished (and survived). That road is never easy, nor is it paved in gold. It rarely ever is. Regardless, it’s good to take a moment and celebrate the victories.

IMG_5433

I found this somewhere on Facebook…. Call me crazy, but I think it’s great advice. 

Celebrating EVERY body,

the fierce fathlete

Leave a Reply

